• Home
  • Nile-Congo
Nile-Congo sentinel landscape
Located in the eastern Africa Afromontane vegetation zone, the Nile-Congo sentinel landscape comprises four sentinel sites cutting across four countries.

These are: Mt Elgon (Uganda) and the South-West Mau Forest (Kenya), Lake Kivu (Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo) and Gishwati (Rwanda).

It represents forest and tree cover transitions along the socioecological degradation gradient, from protected forest margins to purely agricultural landscapes. Read More

Back to top

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Connect with us